Our Philadelphia criminal lawyers have over 25 years
of combined legal practice – handling some of the
toughest cases in the country.
SKA Law is a premier, Philadelphia criminal defense law firm, founded by professional criminal attorneys. We take on cases other law firms turn down, because we know how to fight – and when to negotiate. Our goal is to get you the best outcome possible. No fluff. No nonsense. Our focus is results.
SKA Law takes on fewer clients than other firms – it’s because we believe that taking on fewer clients means we can provide more service, and better results.
Our firm has over 25 years of combined legal practice. Our Philadelphia criminal attorneys have been recognized by the top lawyer ranking services.
Our Philadelphia criminal attorneys are available 24/7- regardless of the holiday, or time of week. We are always available to help you.
We take on fewer clients than other firms. Each client works 1:1 on with one of our senior attorneys.
Pennsylvania is one of the states that uses a point system to keep track of moving violations. The more points you get, the more penalties you will have to deal with. Insurance premiums can go up and you can even lose your license if you get enough points. To help you get a better idea of how these points work and what to do if you get too many, here’s a quick overview.
How many points are violations worth?
What happens when you get six or more points?
The big threshold to keep in mind when it comes to driving violations in Pennsylvania is six points. Once you get six points, the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation will notify your insurance company. As a result, you may see your monthly premiums go up.
You will also be required to take and pass a written exam. If you don’t do this within 30 days, then your license will be suspended. If you do pass the test, two of the points will go away.
If you hit six points again, you will be required to attend a Pennsylvania Department of Transportation hearing. A failure to appear will suspend your license for 60 days. When you do appear, the hearing will determine exactly what sort of punishment you will receive.
If you receive six points for a third time, you will have another hearing. Your license will likely be suspended for 30 days and no points will be deducted from your record. A failure to appear results in a suspended license.
For individuals that are 18 or younger, licenses can be immediately suspended if either six points are accumulated or you drive at least 26 MPH over the speed limit.
If someone gets more than 11 points, their license will be suspended immediately. The length of the suspension will correspond to how many suspensions they have received in the past.
How can an attorney help you?
If you’re charged with a traffic violation, then that doesn’t mean the points are on your record for good. A skilled attorney can help you fight the charge and get the points removed.